準備中です / Coming soon

Frequently Asked Questions about Approval workflow

2025-10-20 05:51:29 UTC 2026-10-30 17:50:04 UTC

About Folder settings

Q. Can a user with Viewer privileges become a User with Approval Authority?

A. Any user who has joined the relevant folder can become a User with Approval Authority.

Q. Can a User with Approval Authority be set for each Sub-folder?

A. Approver setting cannot be done at the Sub-folder level.
However, it is possible to select an approver for individual manuals at the time of an Approval request.

Q. If an Approval workflow is set for a folder after the fact, will the Manuals currently published become drafts?

A. No.

Manuals that were published while the Approval workflow was OFF will continue to remain in the published state.
However, if a manual that is currently published is moved to a folder where the Approval workflow is ON, it will revert to draft status and will need to go through the approval process before it can be published again.

Q. If an Approval workflow is set for a folder after the fact, will a Revision history record remain for the Manuals currently published?

A. No, it will not.

If you want to keep a Revision history, please submit a new request and go through the approval process again.
Additionally, if a manual is published or updated during the period when the Approval workflow is switched from ON to OFF, no Revision history will be kept.

About settings at the time of Approval request

Q. Can the same user be set as an approver at multiple stages?

A. No, this is not possible.

Q. Can a request be submitted even if the user submitting the Approval request and the approver are the same person?

A. Yes, this is possible.

Q. If multiple users are set as approvers, is it impossible to publish the manual unless all of them approve it?

A. Whether approval from all users is required can be selected at the time of submission.

You can specify either "Approval from all users is required" or "Approval from any one person."

Q. Is it possible to register workflow settings for each folder and Sub-folder, and then call them up at the time of submission?

A. Yes, this is possible. By setting up the Approval Route Settings in advance, you can call them up at the time of submission.
  Adding and Deleting Approval Routes (Web Browser)

About operations during the approval process

Q. If a rejection occurs in a multi-stage approval setting, can the approval be resumed from an intermediate stage?

A. No, this is not possible. The approval process must be restarted from the first stage.

Q. Can the approver modify the content of the manual or the Revision history?

A. No, this is not possible. Please reject and return the manual.

Q. The manual displays [Awaiting Approval] and I am unable to edit it. What should I do?

A. By withdrawing the Approval request, you will be able to edit the manual.

For other operations available for each Status, please check the table below.

Operations available for the workflow

Operation \ Status Before submission (configured but not yet submitted) Awaiting Approval Rejected Approved Suspended
Submit ✓ - ✓ - -
Approve - ✓ - - -
Reject - ✓ - - -
Withdraw - ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Edit approval stage / approver ✓ - - - △ (Only replacing the approver is possible)

Operations available for the manual

Before application Awaiting approval Sent back Approved Suspended
Edit ✓ - ✓ - -
Publish/Update (scheduled) - - - ✓ -
Backup ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Duplicate draft ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Archive (specify execution date) ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Manual owner change※ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
View Edit History ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Preview ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Unpublish ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Move manual ✓ - - - -
Delete ✓ - - - -

※Manual owner change: if performed from the manual list screen, changes can be made even while the Approval workflow is in progress.
 Changes cannot be made from the manual editing screen.

Q. I withdrew my Approval request and the sent-back Comment disappeared. Is there a way to check it?

A. When you withdraw a request, the Message at the time of submission and any sent-back Comments are deleted and cannot be restored even if you submit a new Approval request.

Please check the sent-back Comment in the notification email that is automatically sent when a manual is sent back.

About publishing operations and notifications

Q. Will I receive notifications when a manual is submitted for approval, sent back, or approved?

A. Yes, you will.
Please tell me the list of system notification emails sent from Teachme Biz

Q. When an Approved manual was published, the update notification was not delivered. Why?

A. The manual publication notification can only be configured when manually publishing a manual.

▼Notify users about manual release or update (Web Browser)
https://teachme.jp/8/manuals/14651979

Therefore, if you have set "Publish manual upon approval completion" at the time of the Approval request, no notification will be sent.
If you wish to use the notification feature, do not check the publish setting, and have the applicant perform the publishing.

About Revision history

Q. Can the Revision history be edited or deleted after a manual is published?

A. From a document management perspective, it is not possible to edit or delete a manual's Revision history after the manual has been published.

For the same reason, the "Approver" and "Updated by" fields display the "display name" of the user at the time of approval or update.
The display will not be replaced with "Deleted User" or similar.

Q. Can the Revision history be made private?

A. This depends on the folder settings.

  • Internal folder
    It cannot be made private.
  • Folder released outside
    It can be hidden from the Folder settings screen.
    Note that even if the revision history display setting is enabled, the names of approvers and applicants will not be shown to external users.

Set Up Approval Workflow (Web Browser)

Q. Is there a limit to the number of revision history entries that can be retained?

A. There is no limit.

About applications on the mobile app

Q. Is multi-person approval or multi-stage application possible?

A. It is possible, but only under certain conditions.

  • When submitting from the mobile app with a workflow already configured in the web browser version
    Multi-person approval and multi-stage approval are available.
    The application follows the workflow configured in the web browser version.
    ※Due to the design specifications of the mobile app screen, it may not be visually apparent that a workflow is applied, but the configured workflow is executed internally.
  • When submitting from the mobile app without a workflow configured in the web browser version
    Multi-person approval and multi-stage approval are not available.
    A single-stage workflow with one person selected from the users with Approval Authority as the approver is automatically configured, and the application is submitted.

Asking the chatbot a question