About Folder settings
Q. Can a user with Viewer privileges become a User with Approval Authority?
A. Any user who has joined the relevant Folder can become a User with Approval Authority.
Q. Can a User with Approval Authority be set for each Sub-folder?
A. Approver setting cannot be done at the Sub-folder level.
However, it is possible to select an Approver for each individual Manual at the time of an Approval request.
Q. If an Approval workflow is set up for a Folder later, will Manuals currently published become Drafts?
A. No.
Manuals that were published while the Approval workflow was OFF will continue to remain in the currently published state.
Please note that if a Manual currently published is moved to a Folder with the Approval workflow set to ON, it will become a Draft and will need to go through approval before being published.
Q. If an Approval workflow is set up for a Folder later, will a Revision history record remain for Manuals currently published?
A. No, it will not.
If you want to keep a Revision history, please submit a new request and go through the approval process again.
Additionally, if a Manual is published or updated during the period when the Approval workflow was switched from ON to OFF, the Revision history will not be retained either.
About settings at the time of Approval request
Q. Can the same user be set as an Approver at multiple stages?
A. No, this is not possible.
Q. Can an Approval request be submitted even if the user submitting it and the Approver are the same person?
A. Yes, this is possible.
Q. If multiple users are set as Approvers, does the Manual require approval from all of them before it can be published?
A. Whether approval from all Approvers is required can be selected at the time of the request.
You can specify either "Approval from all is required" or "Approval from any one person."
Q. Can workflow settings be registered at the Folder/Sub-folder level and recalled at the time of submission?
A. Yes, this is possible. By setting up "Approval Route Settings" in advance, you can recall them at the time of submission.
Adding and Deleting Approval Routes (Web Browser)
About operations during the approval process
Q. If a rejection occurs in a multi-stage approval setup, can approval be resumed from an intermediate stage?
A. No, this is not possible. Approval must be restarted from the first stage.
Q. Can an Approver modify the content of a Manual or the Revision history?
A. No, this is not possible. Please reject the Manual.
Q. The status shows [Awaiting Approval] and I am unable to edit the Manual. What should I do?
A. You will be able to edit the Manual by withdrawing the Approval request.
For other operations available for each Status, please check the table below.
Operations available for the workflow
| Operation \ Status | Before submission (set up but not yet submitted) | Awaiting Approval | Rejected | Approved | Suspended |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Submit | ✓ | - | ✓ | - | - |
| Approve | - | ✓ | - | - | - |
| Reject | - | ✓ | - | - | - |
| Withdraw | - | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Edit approval stage and Approver | ✓ | - | - | - | △ (Only replacing the Approver is possible) |
Operations available for the Manual
| Before request | Awaiting approval | Returned | Approved | Suspended | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Edit | ✓ | - | ✓ | - | - |
| Release/Update (Scheduled) | - | - | - | ✓ | - |
| Backup | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Duplicate Draft | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Archive (Specify execution date) | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Manual owner change※ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| View Edit History | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Preview | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Unrelease | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Move Manual | ✓ | - | - | - | - |
| Delete | ✓ | - | - | - | - |
※Manual owner change can be performed from the manual list screen even while the Approval workflow is in progress. It cannot be changed from the manual editing screen.
Q. After withdrawing an approval request, the return Comment disappeared. Is there a way to check it?
A. When a request is withdrawn, the Message at the time of the request and the return Comment are deleted and cannot be restored even if the Approval request is submitted again.
Please check the return Comment in the notification email that is automatically sent upon return.
About Release Operations and Notifications
Q. Are notifications sent when a manual is requested, returned, or approved?
A. Yes, they are.
Please tell me the list of system notification emails sent from Teachme Biz
Q. When an approved manual was released, the update notification was not delivered. Why?
A. The manual release notification can only be configured when manually releasing a manual.
▼Notify users about manual release or update (Web Browser)
https://teachme.jp/8/manuals/14651979
Therefore, if "Release manual upon approval completion" is set at the time of the Approval request, no notification will be sent.
If you wish to use the notification feature, do not check the release setting, and have the requester perform the release.
About Revision History
Q. Can the Revision history be edited or deleted after the manual is released?
A. From a document management perspective, it is not possible to edit or delete the Revision history of a manual after it has been released.
For the same reason, the "Approver" and "Updated By" fields display the Display Name of the user at the time of approval or update.
The display will not be replaced with "Deleted User" or similar.
Q. Can the Revision history be set to Unrelease?
A. Whether this can be configured depends on the Folder.
-
Internal folder
It cannot be set to hidden.
-
Folder released outside
It can be hidden from the Folder settings screen.
Note that even if the revision history display setting is enabled, the names of the Approver and requester will not be shown to external users.
Set Up Approval Workflow (Web Browser)
Q. Is there a limit to the number of revision history entries that can be retained?
A. There is no limit.
About Requests via Mobile App
Q. Is multi-person approval or multi-stage approval request possible?
A. It is possible, but only under certain operations.
-
When submitting a request from the mobile app with a workflow already configured in the web browser version
Multi-person approval and multi-stage approval are possible.
The request is processed according to the workflow configured in the web browser version.
※Due to the design specifications of the mobile app screen, it may not be visually apparent that a workflow is applied, but internally the configured workflow is executed. -
When submitting a request from the mobile app without a workflow configured in the web browser version
Multi-person approval and multi-stage approval are not possible.
A single-stage workflow with one person selected from among the users with Approval Authority as the Approver is automatically configured, and the request is processed.