This section explains the restoration rules for the Backup feature. For information on how to use the Backup feature itself, please refer to the applicable manual.
Related: Tell me about the Backup feature
Basic Rules
Every day at around 3:20 AM, an Auto-backup is automatically performed for any items that differ from the previous day (i.e., items whose information has been updated or newly created).
Changes Considered as "Differences"
An Auto-backup is triggered when any of the following information is changed in the edit data on the server.
- Cover information (Title, images, description)
- STEP information (Title, images, description)
- Search tag
- Adding or deleting Comment
- Folder changes, Good Job!, and similar changes are not considered "differences."
- Archived Manuals are excluded from Auto-backup.
Permissions for Creating and Restoring Backups
Related:
Restore manual from backup on the manual editing screen (Web Browser)
Restore manual from backup (Web Browser)
Create or delete manual backup (Web Browser)
Manual Backup
You can also create a manual Backup at any time of your choosing.
- Not available for Archived items.
Related: Create or delete manual backup (Web Browser)
Backup Priority
If edits are made multiple times in a single day, the version edited closest to 3:20 AM will be automatically saved. - However, if a manual Backup is created before 3:20 AM, that data will be retained.
Backup Retention Period (30 Days)
You can go back up to 30 days in history.
Example: If you perform a restoration at 16:00 on 5/15, you can select and duplicate a Backup from 30 days prior (as of 3:20 on 4/16) or later.
Related: Why is data with a date older than 30 days displayed on the Backup details screen?
If No Edits Have Ever Been Made
For example, if a Manual created on 3/16 that was never edited is accidentally deleted as of 5/15, you can restore it by going back to the state as of 4/16 (the Backup including the point of 3:20 on 4/16, which is 30 days prior).
How Restoration Works: "Duplication" Rather Than Overwriting
Restoring a Backup does not overwrite the existing Manual. A new Manual containing the past data is created as a new item.
- Regarding the URL: A new URL will be issued. If you want to retain the original URL, please use the Clipboard feature to transfer the content.
- Regarding the Owner: The user who performs the restoration (duplication) will become the Owner of the new Manual.
Data That Is and Is Not Carried Over
Items That Are Carried Over
- Cover and STEP information (Title, Images/Videos, edited content, description, related URLs, etc.)
- Folder and Sub-folder information
- Search tag, Comment, Good Job!
- Views, Rate Manual
- Created On
Items That Are Not Carried Over (Reset or Changed)
- Revision history: Will be blank.
- Last updated time: Will be set to the time the restoration was performed.
- Release information: Will be created in "Draft" status.
- Approval request status: Will be set to not submitted (-).
- Release URL: A new URL will be issued.
- Bookmark: Will be set to removed.
[Note] Re-editing Video Edit Information
Re-editing of videos is only available for Backups created on or after 14:00 on July 31, 2020.
For data prior to that, the video processing will be fixed upon restoration and the editing details cannot be re-edited.