準備中です / Coming soon

Please tell me about the detailed specifications for generating and restoring backup data

2026-01-12 16:02:37 UTC 2026-09-08 02:32:01 UTC

This article explains the restore rules for the backup feature. For information on how to use the backup feature itself, please refer to the guide below.

Related: Tell me about the backup feature

Basic Rules

Every day at around 3:20 AM, any items that differ from the previous day (updated or newly created) are automatically backed up.

Changes Considered as "Differences"

Automatic backup is triggered when any of the following information changes in the edited data on the server.

  • Cover information (title, image, description)
  • STEP information (title, image, description)
  • Search tags
  • Adding or deleting comments

- Changes such as folder moves or Good Job reactions are not considered "differences".
- Archived manuals are not subject to automatic backup.

Permissions for Backup and Restore

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1DQxjF8I3zImUZCslqQQEoPEI1IIRnBHfF6-PXfD5XwU/edit?slide=id.g3ce7bd3177c_0_0#slide=id.g3ce7bd3177c_0_0

Related:
Restore manual from backup from the manual editing screen (Web Browser)
Restore manual from backup (Web Browser)
Create or delete manual backup (Web Browser)

Manual Backup

You can also create a manual backup at any time of your choosing.

- Not available for archived items

Related: Create or delete manual backup (Web Browser)

Backup Priority

If a manual is edited multiple times in a single day, the version edited closest to 3:20 AM will be automatically saved. - However, if a manual backup is performed before 3:20 AM, that data will be retained.

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1cmQ5tPsitKorpMWqZ0ViOdYCFbZbfudxwGeXTe6cBG8/edit?slide=id.p#slide=id.p

Backup Retention Period (30 Days)

You can go back up to 30 days.

Example: If you restore at 4:00 PM on May 15, you can select and duplicate a backup from 30 days prior (as of 3:20 AM on April 16) or later.

Related: Why is data older than 30 days displayed on the backup details screen?

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/14tp3oFK2hSNzYqjPgrgrIsmEV8itEdxqNoXrWY_e0xc/edit?slide=id.p#slide=id.p

If No Edits Were Ever Made

For example, if a manual created on March 16 that was never edited is accidentally deleted as of May 15, you can restore it by going back to the state as of April 16 (the backup that includes the point of 3:20 AM on April 16, which is 30 days prior).

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1W-g43J-cLZGK2ou8VjgXZ0haNemuuWB0CQNxNJeP3TU/edit?slide=id.p#slide=id.p

How Restore Works: "Duplication" Rather Than Overwriting

Restoring a backup does not overwrite the existing manual. Instead, a new manual is "created" with the data from the past.

  • Regarding the URL: A new URL will be issued. If you want to keep the original URL, please use the clipboard feature to transfer the content.
  • Regarding the owner: The user who performed the restore (duplication) will become the owner of the new manual.

Data That Is and Is Not Carried Over

Items That Are Carried Over

  • Cover and STEP information (title, images/videos, edited content, description, related URLs, etc.)
  • Folder and subfolder information
  • Search tags, comments, and Good Job reactions
  • View count and manual ratings
  • Creation date and time

Items That Are Not Carried Over (Reset or Changed)

  • Revision history: Will be blank
  • Last updated time: Will be set to the time the restore was performed
  • Publication status: Will be created in "Draft" status
  • Approval request status: Will be set to not submitted (-)
  • Public URL: A new URL will be issued
  • Bookmarks: Will be cleared

[Note] Re-editing Video Edit Information

Video re-editing is only available for backups created after 2:00 PM on July 31, 2020.
Data from before that time will be restored with the video edits fixed in place, and the edit content cannot be re-edited.


Asking the chatbot a question