This feature was developed to help avoid editing conflicts that tend to occur when multiple people update a manual, and to enable smooth manual management.
You can view a list of who edited what and when, and it is also possible to check edit differences and restore manuals.
Overview
Supported plans
For the plans and options that support this feature, see here.
Supported apps
- Web Browser version
- Mobile app*
*Recording of Edit History only
Available users
- Users who can access the manual as an Editor
Specifications
You can view a list of who made what edits and when.
Up to 50 of the most recent edit history entries are displayed.
Items displayed in the Edit History List
- Date and time: The date and time the edit was made is displayed.
- Editor: The user who made the edit is displayed.
- Content: The edit operation performed is displayed. The displayed content is as follows.
| Edit operation | Displayed content |
| Save draft was performed, or a new Manual was created | Draft has been edited |
| "Release" was executed | Released |
| "Update" was executed | Updated |
| "Unrelease" was executed | Unreleased |
| "Revert to published state" was executed | Reverted to the published version |
| Restored from Edit History using "Overwrite" | Restored the version from YYYY/MM/DD HH:mm |
Detailed specifications
- Edit data from 2024/06/19 onwards is subject to Edit History recording.
- Edit history is always recorded when a Manual is newly created and when it is updated for the first time.
- If a Manual is updated without any edits (i.e., there are no differences from the currently released Manual), the edit history will not be recorded.
-
If the same user saves a draft multiple times in the same Browser or app, only the most recent edit information is displayed.
- However, if there is an interval of 30 minutes or more between edits, they will be displayed as separate history entries.
-
Edit history is retained even when the following operations are performed:
- Unreleasing/re-releasing a Manual
- Archive/unarchiving
- Moving a Manual
- If the user who made the edit has been deleted, "Deleted User" will be displayed.
-
If the following operations are performed, the edit history of the original Manual will not be carried over to the duplicate (or restored) destination:
- Duplicating a Manual (including duplication from Edit History)
- Restoring from a Backup
How to use
Check the edit history of the manual(Web Browser)
https://teachme.jp/8/manuals/29704488
From the Edit History List of a Manual, you can check the differences between any released version of the Manual and the released version one generation prior.
Criteria for "differences" in the difference check
A "difference" is determined when any of the following operations have been performed on the cover, Steps, or Search tags.
- Added
- Changed
- Moved
- Deleted
Detailed specifications
- Edit data from 2025/02/17 onwards is subject to this feature.
How to use
Viewing manual differences in edit history(Web browser)
https://teachme.jp/8/manuals/34154672
From the Edit History List of a Manual, you can restore or duplicate a Manual based on data from a past released version.
Types of "Restore"
You can choose from two restore methods: "Overwrite" and "Duplicate".
-
Overwrite
- Overwrites the Manual currently being edited with the data from the selected version.
- The Manual URL does not change.
-
The restoration is recorded in the Edit History.
-
Duplicate
- Creates a new Manual with the data from the selected version.
- The Manual URL will change.
- Edit history is not carried over to the duplicated Manual.
Detailed specifications
- Edit data from 2025/02/17 onwards is subject to this feature.
- When a Manual is duplicated, the edit history of the original Manual is not carried over.
How to use
Restore or duplicate a manual in edit history(Web browser)
https://teachme.jp/8/manuals/34160292
Q&A
Q. The number of entries in the Revision history and Edit History of the Approval workflow do not match. Why?
A. This is because the conditions under which records are created differ between Revision history and Edit History.
Revision history is recorded each time a Manual is updated through the Approval workflow.
On the other hand, if an Approval request is submitted without editing the Manual (i.e., there are no differences from the currently released Manual) and the Manual is subsequently approved and released, no record will be created in the approval history. ※Except for the first update.
Additionally, if you have been creating or updating Manuals before you started using the Approval workflow, or if you have temporarily disabled the Approval workflow, there will be no Revision history for those periods, which will cause discrepancies.